A Film For September: Theorem

The postman skips across the lawn of a beautiful house in Milan waving his arms around and heralds the arrival of a visitor. The opening sepia tones become saturated with colour as the visitor, (Terence Stamp) moves in with the family and one by one becomes the object of their desires. In sexually liberating them he soothes their doubts and anxieties while exposing the angst, dissatisfaction and frustration that they feel within themselves and their lives and reveals the sexual tension and disquiet in the household.

Written and directed by Pier Paolo Pasolini in 1968, Theorem uses a combination of fake newsreel interviews, realist drama showing familial tensions and something more fantastical and mythic to show the transformation of the family. It’s spiritual and sensual, physical and metaphysical, serious and jokey as each member of the family (which includes their maid) experiences some sort of revelation or epiphany.

But then as suddenly as he arrived it’s time for him to leave – can the family make sense of their lives without him or will they fall apart? Each of the characters’ reactions is explored individually and each is surprising and spectacular in its own way.

This is such an odd film, I found it difficult to pin point or know exactly what it’s about. It’s a very quiet film with very little dialogue and an eerie score by Ennio Morricone that combines some pretty heavy Mozart with light ’60’s dance music that evokes the period and strangeness perfectly; and there’s a lot of gazing; into the distance, into eyes and onto pairs of trousers lying on the floor. And who exactly is the visitor? Although the liberation and freedom he initially brings seems to suggest him as a ‘saviour’ his gaze straight into the camera and the creative and destructive chaos he leaves behind seems more devil than angel..

Is it a religious fable? An existential allegory? or a mischievous satire? I don’t know. That the sons homosexuality is liberated on the one hand but the daughter’s creative flare for photography is taken from her as she descends into a catatonic state seems to ask if we’re more scared of our creativity than crave it. At the end, when the father has shed his city suit and naked lets out an almighty scream I did think that I had been asked more questions than I had had answered or was even expecting.

13 thoughts on “A Film For September: Theorem

  1. “Odd” sounds like an understatement? I used to love this kind of film, which would make my head spin in an attempt to interpret the events in an allegorical fashion. I may give this a try if I should come across it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is certainly a lot to explore – Marxist theory and Christianity are definitely up for discussion, but for this first viewing I was just amazed by what was coming next! I watched it on the BFI, I don’t know if it’s on Amazon – I hope you let me know what you think if you do track it down!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve really intrigued me now—this isn’t a film I was ever aware of but the way you describe it, or rather your reaction to it, makes me keen to watch it when the opportunity comes. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you’re intrigued, I didn’t want to describe it in too much detail because I don’t think this is something to be prepared for! I watched it through the BFI and would love to know what you think if you do manage to see it!

    Like

    1. ha ha!! I don’t think so either, although there’s lots to discuss ( I don’t want to give anything away just in case, but look at the picture of the person levitating. . . )

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds as if it goes way too far towards the weird end of my weirdometer, but I am indeed intrigued by the levitating person! I do like films (and books) that make me think but I also like to feel that I have a fair chance of working out what they’re supposed to be about!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well it’s certainly different! If I come across this, I will give it a try. These days though, I seem to gravitate towards predictability and comfort on the screen and I suspect Theorem doesn’t quite tick either box!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment