Norwegian Wood

Now 37, Toru Watanabe arrives in Germany on business and as the plane touches down an orchestral version of the Beatles’ ‘Norwegian Wood’ plays from the speakers. As always he’s reminded of his beautiful, fragile friend Naoko and their time together in Tokyo 18 years earlier, when in the late 60’s he was a student, Norwegian Wood was her favourite song and they were both coming to terms with the death of their best friend, Kizuki.

This is an intimate book, a tight cast of characters surround Toru, as he negotiates the confusion of moving on with his life and the deep sorrow that he feels. Naoko is beautiful but emotionally fragile and spends much of the novel in a mountainside psychiatric hospital, where she becomes close friends with her room mate Reiko a talented musician. Nagasawa is a student friend who, despite having a long term girlfriend, has a habit of trailing bars for one night stands, a habit that starts to include Toru and then there’s Midori, Naoko’s complete opposite. She’s a free spirit, impetuous and alive to adventure and could be his future.

This is a book of intense friendships and conversations. Naoko and Midori might be opposites in temperament and it’s easy to see them as one signifying Toru’s past and the other his future but they both demand a level of his attention that I thought was quite exhausting. Their conversations are open and candid, at times explicitly so and that’s when the book didn’t sit comfortably with me, I just didn’t really believe it. It is a man remembering his youth so perhaps this is how he likes to think his girl friends spoke with him, but the memories are too poignant for that; unfortunately, I think it’s an unperceptive handling of female sexuality.

Japan is fantastic: the quietness of the mountains or pounding the pavements in Tokyo, the nightlife and the student uprisings which break in every now and then like a Greek chorus, are all full of life. And the food, which is everywhere, is never glossed over. If they sit down to eat, which is often, we always know what they’re eating. Fried fish with green salad, miso soup, boiled vegetables and rice, lots of curry and noodles, almost every page it seems has someone eating. My favourite was when Toru visited Midori’s father in hospital; feeling hungry but unable to leave his bedside he finds some mini cucumbers in the locker, wraps them in nori and dips them in a little soy sauce. Together, the young student and the dying old man consume cucumber after cucumber, which I thought was as delicious as it was companionable.

I think if I had read this as a teen I would have loved it. The characters are very well drawn and all could stand independently outside of the world of Norwegian Wood. Coming to terms with adulthood, which includes the mundane tasks, navigating our way around different relationships and facing the death of loved ones are all situations we can empathise with but I just didn’t care as much as I wanted too, perhaps I’m being cynical, but I couldn’t believe in their conversations and they seem pivotal to this whole memory of Toru Watanabe.

.

19 thoughts on “Norwegian Wood

    1. I see its UK pub date is 1987, I think if I had read it then I would have soaked up every word. I’m not inspired to try any others really which is a shame since so many people love him, oh well!@

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can certainly relate to the idea of some stories being best suited to the reader at a specific time in their life. Part of what makes stories interesting to me at least is that they open our eyes to new topics and themes. At some point, we feel fully versed on a theme or topic, and so it’s less appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I’m going to hold this book much more dearly in my mind than I enjoyed reading it, if that makes sense. The characters were very interesting, I wish I had read it when I was younger!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only read one of his books, 1Q84, and while I got through all 1000 pages and even liked some of it, boy, was it a slog and he does seem to enjoy being explicit! I’ve never been tempted to read another.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a fan of Murakami, I can completely agree with the shortcomings you mentioned, particularly in his treatment of women. He has yet to create a strong female character, in my opinion. Murakami also tends to write really awkward sex scenes. I enjoy him when he’s poetic, and he captures loneliness to perfection. Food is an important component in all of his fiction, so I definitely don’t recommend reading him on an empty stomach! You might get a kick out of “Murakami Bingo” which lists all his tropes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remembered that you liked him Joel! I just don’t believe women talk like that and especially not with a man present and I couldn’t get passed that since those conversations take up a lot of the book. I did enjoy his writing style though and I’ve eaten a lot of sushi thinking about it! There is a possibility that I’ll give Murakami Bingo a chance. . .

      Like

  4. I haven’t particularly enjoyed any of the novels I’ve read by Murakami, but I loved his essays in What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.
    Slightly tempted to read Norwegian Wood because of the descriptions of food, though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It should come with some recipes at the back! I’ve noticed this in Japanese films as well that food is central. I didn’t know about his long distance running until I looked him up, as long as he doesn’t run with a women describing her sex life I might have a look!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love novels that include recipes.
        I’d love them even more if they came with actual food 🙂
        I’ve thought about his essays on and off for years, probably should find a copy of the book for myself to keep. I don’t remember anything about him writing about running with women who talked about their sex lives so think you’d be safe there!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, I think I would have enjoyed it more as a teen, too. While this novel is well known for catapulting Haruki Murakami to fame, I much prefer Kafka on The Shore (my favorite), and 1Q84, and The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. I even feel like rereading Killing Commendatore which I last read October, 2018. I feel like every time I reread one of his books, I grasp more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is the only Murakami I have read for all the reasons you have listed. Maybe I should give him another shot. I have heard that this is not the book to read first to get an introduction to his works. I couldn’t relate to any of the characters, male or female. I read this long ago and don’t remember details but what has stayed with me is the feeling that the women were just fantasy figures and had no depth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s it, fantasy. They did feel like fantasy relationships for a teenage boy! I’m worried that as this is meant to be the most conventional of his novels I don’t really stand a chance with the others – but the comments here have encouraged me to not give up too soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment