How Green Was My Valley

I actually read this last year for Paula’s Dewithon but didn’t get around to reviewing it; I wanted to include it though because it does feel like a part of my life! Watching the BBC drama in 1976 I thought Angharad was the most sophisticated name I had ever heard and idolised her for it, but I didn’t realise the drama was based on a novel until I started this blog and wondered if it would live up to my expectations. Luckily it did and I was swept up in the story of the Morgan family living in the coal mining valleys of South Wales. What I wasn’t prepared for though was my reaction to the language. My dad was one of 7 children growing up in South Wales and it was as if he and all my chattering aunts were back in the room. There were phrases used that I hadn’t heard since dad died 20 years ago, ‘go on with you’ was one of his favourites and my grandmother’s and aunts’ voices came through the steamy Morgan kitchen.

But the book is about far more than Angharad’s relationship with the wealthy mine owners son, Iestyn Evans. Narrated by Huw, the Morgan’s youngest son, we’re absorbed into the world of his late 19th century youth. It’s a respectable family home, where Huw is proudly sent to the grammar school; floors are scrubbed, men are scrubbed at the end of the day, chapel is adhered too, and there’s always food on the table.

I was struck by the division of labour. This is a patriarchal society with no doubt, when Huw is bullied at school, his father finds him a boxing instructor and teaches him to stick up for himself. The men’s wages are everything and their employment is hallowed, they’re given their food first, they speak first and they expect to be obeyed. But they hand their wages over to their wives who take enormous pride in their ability to economise and provide comfortable homes for their families; for which they’re respected and admired – but god forbid any girl who goes into the fields with a boy, the full weight and shame of chapel and her family will come down on her if they’re caught.

Facts are mixed with fiction at the end of the century with the colliery strikes. The loosely organised valley unions challenge the rich mine owners over fair pay and tension comes not just from the strike but also over debates of joining together to form a centralised union. The bitterness tears through the family as much as the valley.

First published in 1939, the Morgan family, with their range of ages and aspirations are a saga all to themselves, and because it’s largely told through the eyes (and stomach) of a hungry school boy there are a lot of descriptions of food, which I love. There are weddings and funerals, birthdays and a soup kitchen; washing pots and pans, steamy stoves; and an endless supply of kettles boiling; there’s an abundance of blackberry tarts, fresh trout tickled out of the river, cakes and jellies and blancmange, strawberry tart and cream and roast chickens and pies, the plates all polished with bread.

I see there are 3 more volumes following Huw into adult life, but I’m happy to leave him in the valley at least for now.

14 thoughts on “How Green Was My Valley

    1. I went back and re read your review and I’m glad you talk about the singing because of all the things I didn’t mention that’s the one that matters the most and I don’t know why I didn’t include it! Singing is so important to the valley isn’t it, it runs through the whole book whether as individuals or choirs. There’s a real feeling of change in the air isn’t there? That the valley’s won’t be the same again. . .

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You remind me I keep meaning to seek out a copy of this but haven’t as yet.
    I’m sure I’ll get to this eventually, as our daughter and her family now live in the Valleys where life now is very different in many ways from how it was as described here but where the memory of those times lingers on. Where we are now in the eastern end of the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park the glare from the furnaces in Merthyr Tydfil would’ve been like the distant fires of Mordor in Richard Llewellyn’s day . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The whole book has a feeling of the changes coming with a new century, and the internet has been a brilliant resource for photographs and news articles about the strikes, it was a very interesting reading experience!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How lovely to be reminded of your aunts and father by the character’s sayings 🙂
    The food descriptions sound wonderful. Are they also a reminder of your childhood, or do you think that would be for your father’s generation? They reminded me of what I ate growing up and what I would still consider comfort food now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was quite startling when I first started reading Rose! It’s real comfort food isn’t it, as a child and now I think a description of a fruit tart is the thing that makes me most hungry!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You would love my mother’s Blackberry Tart 🙂
        It has a shortcrust pastry base, then a thick smear of blackberry jam over the top, with the remainder of the pastry crumbled in the middle.

        Like

  3. This is one that’s been hovering around my radar since I started blogging and heard about it through reviews. That’s a lovely feeling when language whisks you back in time – it happens to me when I read William McIvanney’s books about early and mid 20th century Scotland. That dialect of Scots is largely out-dated now but completely recognisable from when I was a child.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have Welsh ancestry on my mother’s side of the family tree, but far enough back to have few connections or memories (Mum did find some second and third cousins, when she started our family history project back in the 80’s, that we have been in contact with over the years and who I visited in 1991 briefly one long weekend. A couple of my Pop’s cousins were still alive at the time and I was taken to see the old family farm near Llantrissant. I loved the sing-song way the older folk spoke and some of their quirky sayings.)

    Which is my long way of saying that I loved this novel too and hope to reread it (& watch the movie) one day.

    Naturally Bronwen was my favouriye character 🙂

    Like

  5. Oh, I also read this one fairly recently. It really stuck with me. I’m delighted to hear that the language is definitely authentic, based on your experience with your own family.

    It’s funny how a book can evoke that kind of deep emotional reaction based just on language, plot and setting totally aside, isn’t it? I’ve had that same reaction when listening to audiobooks of Westerns; even if the story itself is just whatever, the accent and phrases and syntax altogether make me feel like I’ve been transported back in my grandparent’s house listening to the old folks chat.

    I somehow missed that there are sequels! But, like you, I think I’m content to leave Huw’s story where it sits for now.

    Like

Leave a comment